cool_infographics_webinar.jpg

The 2019 Cool Infographics Virtual Summit

Session #1: Success starts here: Infographics planning, storytelling and tools

January 2019

For all the example designs that are available online, I have listed here the link to the original source so that you can see the full-size original version online, the way the designer intended.  However, many of the URLs are long and difficult to type into your browser, so this list makes it easy to just click on the links.

Intro to Infographics 

Cisco Visual Networking Index: http://www.cisco.com/en/US/netsol/ns827/networking_solutions_solution_category.html

The Information Hydrant, Will Lion: http://www.flickr.com/photos/will-lion/2595497078/

The Empowered E-Patient:http://www.slideshare.net/blueeyepathrec/empowered-epatient-infographic

Google Search Insights for “Infographic”: https://trends.google.com/trends/explore?date=today%203-m&q=infographic

Using Infographics 

How Affiliate Marketing Works: http://www.sugarrae.com/affiliate-marketing/how-affiliate-marketing-works/

History of Christmas Trees: http://www.christmastreemarket.com/History-of-the-Christmas-Tree-Origin-Infographic-s/311.htm

Streamlining Your Digital Life with the New iPad:http://www.nextworth.com/iPad3_infographic

The 6 Principles of Design:http://folography.com/work/the-6-principles-of-design/

Easy Longboard Buyer’s Guide: http://longboardreviews.net/easy-longboard-buyers-guide/

Honda Accord: http://www.flickr.com/photos/hondanews/7950209832

Hotels.com Infographics: http://press.hotels.com/en-us/infographics/

How To Match Shirt & Tie Patterns:http://www.beckettsimonon.com/blogs/news/7814175-how-to-match-shirt-and-tie-patterns

Best Eyeglasses for Your Face Shape:http://www.zennioptical.com/best-eyeglasses-for-your-face-shape

Cold or The Flu?:http://www.vaccinehub.com.au/diseases/influenza

Grandma's Apple Pie Recipe:http://www.taskandtool.com/blogs/recipes/15657687-grandmas-apple-pie

Sudan Bombing:http://www.sudanbombing.org/infographic

Bedford Budget Poster: http://infonewt.com/portfolio/client-work/8781697

DadePaper Banner Infographic: https://www.linkedin.com/company/dade-paper-company

Design Tips 

Social Media Active Users by Network 2015: http://thesocialmediahat.com/active-users

Disney Rewards Insider Winter 2018 (p10): https://cdn.cms.disneyrewards.com/wp-content/uploads/2018/11/DisneyCreditVisa2018Nov10.5online.pdf

Google How shoppers find ideas and inspiration: https://www.thinkwithgoogle.com/consumer-insights/ideas-inspiration-shopping-infographic/

FedEx Seasonal Success 2017: https://smallbusiness.fedex.com/content/dam/SMB/general/pdf/Seasonal-Success-2017.pdf

The Chart Chooser: https://extremepresentation.com/design/7-charts/

The Chart Chooser (Color Version from Qlik): http://global.qlik.com/~/media/Files/blog/Choosing-A-GoodChart-Dissected-FINAL.ashx

The Data Visualization Catalogue: http://datavizcatalogue.com/

Where’s Google Making its money? http://www.wordstream.com/articles/most-expensive-keywords

The Social Media Landscape: http://www.businessinsider.com/social-media-marketing-landscape-complicated-2012-5

The Marketing Technology Landscape Supergraphic: http://chiefmartec.com/2015/01/marketing-technology-landscape-supergraphic-2015/

Tower of Beer: http://www.rothira.com/tower-of-beer

NYTimes, Justice Scalia's Ideology: http://www.nytimes.com/interactive/2016/02/14/us/supreme-court-justice-ideology-scalia.html

PolicyViz DataViz CheatSheet: https://policyviz.com/2018/08/07/dataviz-cheatsheet/

Design Tools

Adobe Illustrator: http://www.adobe.com/products/illustrator.html

OmniGraffle: https://www.omnigroup.com/omnigraffle

Microsoft Visio: https://products.office.com/en-us/visio/flowchart-software

Affinity Designer: https://affinity.serif.com/en-us/designer/

Microsoft PowerPoint: https://products.office.com/en-us/powerpoint

Inkscape: https://inkscape.org/en/

Visme: http://www.visme.co/

Canva: https://www.canva.com/

Easel.ly: http://www.easel.ly/

Infogr.am: http://infogr.am/

Pikotochart: http://piktochart.com/

Adobe Photoshop: http://www.adobe.com/products/photoshop.html

Pixelmator: http://www.pixelmator.com/

GIMP: http://www.gimp.org/

Acorn: http://flyingmeat.com/acorn/

Affinity Photo: https://affinity.serif.com/en-us/photo/

Girl Scouts Cookies Pie Chart: http://www.wired.com/2011/08/st_datagirlscoutcookies/

What is an Infographic? (explained with LEGOs): https://www.zazzle.com/z/1cbd5?rf=238354100321839023

Microsoft Office: https://products.office.com/en-us/products 

The Noun Project: http://thenounproject.com/

Paletton:http://paletton.com/

Wordle: http://www.wordle.net/

BatchGeo: http://batchgeo.com/

Gliffy :http://www.gliffy.com/

Thinglink: https://www.thinglink.com/

Cool Infographics Tools Page: http://www.coolinfographics.com/tools

Cool Infographics Facebook Page: https://www.facebook.com/coolinfographic/

Session #2: Next steps: How to maximize infographic quality, reach and ROI

Google Search Insights for “Infographic”: https://trends.google.com/trends/explore?date=today%203-m&q=infographic

Google's 200 Ranking Factors: http://www.entrepreneur.com/article/226884

James Bond Movies:http://blogs.hrblock.com/2012/09/25/50-years-of-bond-james-bond-infographic/

Landing Page Setup

Moz Title Tag Tool: https://moz.com/learn/seo/title-tag

Yoast Wordpress Plugin: https://yoast.com/wordpress/plugins/seo/

AddThis: http://www.addthis.com/

ShareThis: http://www.sharethis.com/

AddToAny: https://www.addtoany.com/

Tweet Button Customization: https://publish.twitter.com/#

Open Graph Protocol: http://ogp.me/

Twitter Cards: https://developer.twitter.com/en/docs/tweets/optimize-with-cards/overview/abouts-cards.html

Semantic Markup (Schema): https://schema.org/

Google Mobile Friendly Test:https://search.google.com/search-console/mobile-friendly

EXIF Editor (Mac): https://exifeditor.com/ 

Self-Promotion & Outreach 

The 2019 Social Media Image Sizes Guide: https://makeawebsitehub.com/social-media-image-sizes-cheat-sheet/

Bitly Half-Life of a Link: https://searchenginewatch.com/sew/study/2108186/bitly-links-hour-half-life-study

Facebook Image Tester: https://www.facebook.com/ads/tools/text_overlay

PRWeb: http://www.prweb.com/

PRLog: http://www.prlog.org/

PR Newswire: http://www.prnewswire.com/

PR Daily Media Relations Submit: https://www.prdaily.com/Main/SubmitNews.aspx

Google Analytics: https://www.google.com/analytics/

Bitly.com Link Shortener: https://bitly.com/

Google Image Search: https://images.google.com/?gws_rd=ssl

Bing Image Search: http://www.bing.com/images?FORM=Z9LH

TinEye Reverse Image Search: https://www.tineye.com/

MOZ Open Site Explorer: https://moz.com/researchtools/ose/

Majestic Site Explorer: https://majestic.com/reports/site-explorer?q=example.com&IndexDataSource=F

PR Checker: https://www.prchecker.info/

Google Page Rank Explained, Elliance: http://www.elliance.com/aha/infographics/google-pagerank-explained.aspx

Contact Info

Cool Infographics Book, Randy Krum: http://www.coolinfographics.com/book

Cool Infographics Blog: http://www.coolinfographics.com/

Cool Infographics Facebook Page: https://www.facebook.com/coolinfographic/

Cool Infographics Linkedin Discussion Group: http://bit.ly/coolinfogroup

LinkedIn: http://www.linkedin.com/in/rtkrum/

Twitter: @rtkrum  https://twitter.com/rtkrum

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/rtkrum

InfoNewt Infographics and Data Visualization Design Firm: http://infonewt.com/